Disabling application restore in Lion

A new feature of Lion is the ability to restore your environment. When you open Pages, for instance, you’ll see all the documents you were working on, and this could be a nice thing.

For some applications you open and close often this is very annoying. For me QuickTime, Preview and VLC should not behave this way. To fix this there’s a command line trick working in a per-app basis (repplace QuickTimePlayerX with Preview or VLC as needed):

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s